The Anglican Church of Australia - Diocese of Wangaratta

Parishes of the Diocese


Wangaratta is one of 23 dioceses of the Anglican Church of Australia. It has 25 parishes & parochial districts (with 78 congregations) under the pastoral and administrative care of Bishop John Parkes. There are 22 active and 41 other clergy associated with and permitted to officiate in the Diocese. The Diocese of Wangaratta was founded in 1902. It covers the very beautiful north eastern part of the state of Victoria.

It extends from just north of the outer suburbs of Melbourne through to Northern Albury, which is over the state border in New South Wales, and from the fruit-growing areas of central Victoria to the start of the Snowy River country.

The Diocese is mainly rural but forty-five percent of the population lives in the cities of Shepparton, Albury/Wodonga and Wangaratta itself, which are steadily growing in population.

For service times, contact details and other information, follow each individual Parish's link.

View Diocese of Wangaratta in a larger map

Vacant clergy positions (as at 28 May 2010)

(back to top)

Parishes (in alphabetical order)

(back to top)